You can Advertise here.

The nation’s top young lacrosse players will once again converge in Coquitlam to compete for the international crown in July, 2016.

The 2016 FIL World U-19 Lacrosse Championship will be held in Coquitlam, B.C., for the second time in less than a decade, running July 7-16, 2016, at the Coquitlam Town Centre Park, with main games and events held at Percy Perry Stadium. This tournament follows in the success of the Under-19 men’s field lacrosse world championship in 2008.

Canada hopes home-field advantage can help them to end the reign of the United States, winners of all seven U-19 championships. It was in London, Ont., in 2006 that Canada ended the American streak at the senior men’s level, and they hope a strong fan presence and familiar territory will give them the edge they need. And with the continual growth of the field game in Canada and increased overall parody in field lacrosse internationally, it promises to be a great showcase for the sport.

The Under 19 world championships commenced in 1988 with Australia, the U.S., Japan and Canada playing host. The championship tournament runs every four years. The U.S. has won all seven previous championships, but with two losses in the last U-19 worlds held in Turku, Finland, during the round-robin stage, signs of increased parody were showing.

Twelve nations attended the past two U-19 championships, with Australia, Bermuda, Canada, England, Finland, Germany, Iroquois, Japan, Korea, Scotland, USA and Wales in 2008, and the Czech Republic and Netherlands replacing Bermuda and Japan in 2012’s event in Turku.

The last tournament was held in 2012 in Finland, with the United States defeating Canada in the championship final.

Canada has hosted a significant number of world lacrosse championships in recent years. The U-19 championship tournament event held in Coquitlam in 2008 was an overwhelming success and still comes up in conversation about what a great experience it was in Canadian an international lacrosse circles.

Tournament History

Year Location Winner
1988 Adelaide, Australia USA
1992 Long Island, USA USA
1996 Tokyo, Japan USA
1999 Adelaide, Australia USA
2003 Towson, USA USA
2008 Coquitam, Canada USA
2012 Turku, Finland USA

(More information)

Coming in 2016

Coming in 2016

Coming in 2016

Additional information